South West

Ekiti state was carved out of the territory of the old Ondo State and was created as a state on the 1st of October, 1996 under General Sani Abacha. The State accounts for 1.7% of Nigeria’s total population. The people of the state are majorly Yoruba with the same dialect, and has 16 Local Government Areas Ekiti is naturally endowed with numerous natural resources which include granite, kaolin, columbite, iron, ore, gemstone, limestone, gold and many others which are largely deposited in various towns in the state.
Lagos (meaning lakes) was created on May 27th, 1967 and consists of four islands; Lagos Island, Victoria Island, Ikoyi and Iddo. It has 57 local government areas, and was the capital of Nigeria until 1991. It is known as the 'Centre of Excellence', as it is the commercial nerve-centre of Nigeria, having more than half of its industrial investments. It is a Yoruba speaking, south-western state, but the population consists of people from all tribes in the country and many different nationalities.
Also known as the “Gateway State,” Ogun State is located in the southwest of Nigeria. It was created out of the old Western State in 1976, and it borders Lagos State to the south, Oyo and Osun States to the north, Ondo State to the east and the Republic of Benin to the west.
Ondo State located in south-west geopolitical zone of Nigeria, was created in 3rd February 1976 out of the defunct Western State by the then regime of General Murtala Mohammed and it has 19 local government areas The life patterns of the people represent an embodiment of culture, ranging from the local foodstuff to the mode of dressing, dancing, wood crafts, such as, carved house posts and decorated doors. The culture of the Ondo State people speaks volumes. Antiquities and artefacts are also preserved in palaces of traditional rulers some of which have been declared as National Monuments.
Osun State was created from Oyo State in August, 1991. It is located in south-western Nigeria with its capital situated in Osogbo. The name of the state derived from the River Osun, the venerated natural spring which is the acclaimed manifestation of Osun, a Yoruba goddess.